The Challenge, Box 3

DSCN0516
Red Knot – Little Bead Boxes – Julia S. Pretl

This blog has moved and will no longer be updated at this location. Please go to www.thebeadpursuit.com and follow the blog to get notified of new content.

Box #3 is called “Red Knot”. I wasn’t feeling this one at all. It looks great, I’m really happy with it and I was very much looking forward to beading this box but when it came to it I just wasn’t in the mood. But 1 box a month is the challenge and I’m going to make it.

Red Knot is a lot bigger than the previous boxes so naturally it took longer to make and it had a material cost of 20€.
I deviated a little bit from the colors listed in the book. The red used in the book is actually the same red I used in my first box but I wanted a darker red so I went for maroon.
I ran out of color A when I was about 4 rounds away from being finished with the lid so I used color B instead. You’d have to have some kind of super eyesight to be able to spot that though so it does not by any means ruin the pattern.

That’s it for the triangle-shaped boxes. Next up, the hexagon!

Materials used:

  • 8 mm Light Siam AB flattened round faceted glass beads for the feet and finial.
  • Hybrid Pepper Red Picasso 11/0 seed beads
  • Dyed Op Maroon 11/0 Miyuki Delica beads #0654
  • Matte Tr Root Beer 11/0 Miyuki Delica beads #0769
  • Op Cream AB 11/0 Miyuki Delica beads #0157
  • Antique Beige Ceylon 11/0 Miyuki Delica beads #0204
  • Light Caramel Ceylon 11/0 Miyuki Delica beads #0205
  • Dyed Light Apricot SL Alabaster 11/0 Miyuki Delica beads #0621
  • 6 lb Fireline, smoke

# broken beads 0
# broken needles 2
# broken threads 0

One thought on “The Challenge, Box 3

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.